Independent Living Scales® (ILS ®)

Independent Living Scales® (ILS ®)


Patricia Anderten Loeb


Assess competency in instrumental activities of daily living

Completion Time:

45 minutes; Scoring: 10 minutes


Adults 65+ years

Publication Date:


Now you can have a reliable and valid standardized approach for identifying areas of competence in forensic cases and for determining the most appropriate living setting for adults who are experiencing a decline in cognitive functioning. The Independent Living Scalesreg; (ILS®) is an individually administered assessment of the degree to which adults are capable of caring for themselves and their property.

The ILS is composed of five scales: Memory/Orientation, Managing Money, Managing Home and Transportation, Health and Safety, and Social Adjustment. The performance-based results from the 68 ILS items are more objective and reliable than third-party observations or examinees’ self-reports.

Normative data are provided for the different scales so the various areas of competence can be identified and compared. Cut scores are provided as a means of establishing criterion validity with adults 65 and older who are living independently, semi-independently, or dependently. Performance data are also provided on samples of individuals, 17 years of age and older, who have a psychiatric diagnosis, dementia, mental retardation, or traumatic brain injury.

Note: Examiners will need to provide a telephone, telephone book, some money, an envelope, scratch paper, pen, pencil, and stopwatch.

Get more information on our products

    Customer Services

    Phone: +91-9513666500

    Business Hours

    Monday - Friday: 9am to 5pm
    Saturday & Sunday: Closed

    Our International Offices

    Follow us